Quilter, Interrupted

Wow.  It’s a good thing I don’t take too heavily to signs and portents (usually), because I’d start to think that this Which Stitchery operation of mine is doomed to… something.

The journey thus far has involved the idea’s inception in March, waiting for the Kickstarter project to come through (yay!), waiting for the money to clear in my account, waiting for my stomach to stop virusing (yes, it was virusing), the trip to Mexico, two solid months of work – and This past week.

Before I get into what that means, here are two pictures.  The first is BUSINESS:

Yes!  Yes!  Finally I have a straight edge meant to work with super sharp rotary blades!  *dances*  Best.  Gift.  Ever.  Well.  Almost.  ^.^

Second picture is of the (sadly little) progress I’ve made on my friend’s baby quilt:

I love this block.  It’s like a little origami project (and those of you who know me know how much I love folding paper!)!  The good news is that, come hell or high water, I will have this thing done by Sunday so that it can be mailed Monday and get to the happy couple before the baby is due.  The… other news… is the reason why the quilt has seen so little progress (though I do have all of the strips ready to be sewn together at this point…).

As I mentioned in a previous post, Chad and I are apartment hunting again.  Or rather, we were.  On Monday this week, I went to look at an apartment without Chad, took a million pictures, and spent the entire walk home trying to think of how I’d convince him to take this apartment.  Apparently whatever came out of my mouth when I got home was enough: he immediately told me to get in touch with the landlord and set up the application.  When I did, she implied that another couple wanted it for July 1st (a month before our move out date).  Chad suggested we give her a check for the security deposit immediately, and the next few days involved a hectic back-and-forth of emails, scurrying to the bank, photocopying stuff, and (me) panicking over whether or not we’d get the place.  We are signing the lease tonight.  ^_^  Hooray!  Of course, when we are all moved in and I feel a little less pressed for time, I will tell the whole story in great detail – with pictures!

We are moving into our new home next Friday.  So, our entire lives need to be packed up in a week.  A week that will involve birthday celebrations (mine), work at the studio (Sunday), showing our current apartment (as often as possible so someone can take over our lease) and… a new job.

Yes.  I interviewed with a company earlier in the week for an office job.  9:30-5:00, typical office grunt work… after all this time thinking about what I want to do with myself (which is definitely to create things), it felt weird to go on an interview for anything, much less something so mundane.  But after deeply considering what this would mean for my drive to keep quilting and get Which Stitchery off the ground, I decided that what I need right now is two fold: a regular schedule (which I’ve been pretty good about keeping, but I think that if I have to “squeeze in” the quilting I will actually be more likely to do it because I’m awesome under pressure), and a regular paycheck.  The reality is that I’ve had a hard time paying bills, and there is something truly empowering about knowing I can take care of myself financially, which I’ve not felt since leaving teaching.  It’s a small office, only two other people, who are both quirky and weird in ways that I really like.  We all get along pretty well, and that’s only from about an hour of conversation, so I’m confident that this will be exactly what I need in terms of keeping money coming in (which means I’ll also be able to afford new fabrics…!) while being able to focus on my art outside of work, which was simply impossible when I was trying to plan lessons every second of every day.

What does this mean immediately?  It means, firstly, that I won’t have time to post again until at least July 4th.  Hopefully at that time I’ll have lots of beautiful quilt pictures and house pictures to show and tell.  Secondly, it means that I will probably be producing at a much slower rate since I won’t have 8 hours in a row to work on something.  However, my immediate solution to that is to post custom quilt listings in the Etsy store, and just keep turning out what I can in the meanwhile.

On a completely unrelated note, I went to see my juniors from last year graduate this morning.  I was so immensely proud of them.  They ended up working really hard to get to that stage today, and it was so amazing to see so many of them up there, getting ready to go to college, or walk the next path in their lives.  It was so emotional to be there after six months of having nothing to do with any of my former students (save one, who emails regularly), and I was happy that so many of them were happy to see me.  They are wonderful young people and I know they are going to do great things with their lives.

Alright, Stitchers.  I’m going to disappear for a few hours before more apartment showings and a hectic weekend of aquariums, burgers, pottery, and packing.  Have a beautiful week – and I will see you all again on the Fourth of July!

~Nessa

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Personal Musings, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quilter, Interrupted

  1. sandcastle1015 says:

    This brought tears to my eyes ~~~ you have many things to be proud of yourself 🙂 Good luck with EVERYTHING!!!!!

  2. Kristina says:

    I love this kailedescope pattern and the colors. I don’t even know if that’s how you spell “kailedescope”…

Leave a Reply

