Baby Quilts ‘R’ Us!

Slow start today, Stitchers, but I come bearing pretty projects and a tutorial (which will be in a separate post!)!

An old friend of mine got married a few years back, and he and his wife are now expecting a baby girl (she’s due in July – I’m behind!).  Early this year on FB there was a meme floating around to the effect that “if you comment, I’ll make you something by hand before the end of 2011, but only if you agree to post this as your status,” or somesuch, and Joe happened to be one of the folks who commented.  So, baby quilt!  Even though it’s really for his daughter… ^.^;

As always, I can’t be satisfied doing the exact same thing twice, so I picked up a new paper-pieced block and got to work.  Introducing the kaleidoscope block!

Let’s start with the fabric, though.  Joe said the nursery was in cool colors, so I went with blues and purples:

Love my yummy batiks!  These are some of my favorites, and I was so happy to be able to put them to use together.  Cutting out the fabric next:

Rectangles and squares into triangles – again!  This quilt will have 63 blocks and 756 pieces.  The good news is that the block is super easy to assemble (much easier, somehow, than the square-in-a-square, or maybe just less time consuming.  either way, awesome).  Here are some close-ups of the patterns on the fabric:

(can you tell I love these fabrics?!  soooooooooooo pretty)

And, because I didn’t feel like taking pictures whilst I figured out how to piece the block, here is the finished block!

I’m holding the block here so that you can get a sense of how big (or small!) it is.  About 4″ square.

Not a ton of progress on this – I only pieced two blocks, since I spent most of today cutting out the pieces.  I also got started really late.  I decided a walk was in order this morning; when you work at home, I think it’s really important to differentiate your workspace from your living space.  Barring that, it’s good to get out of the house once in a while, just to change the scenery a bit.  ^.^  In any case, I’ll finish this up tomorrow, and have pictures and everything Friday – though this week is crazy busy for some reason.  I have a lot of places to be that aren’t here… so I’m just hoping that I’ll manage to cram in enough work for the week to be… profitable?  That’s absolutely the wrong word, but you get what I mean.

That’s all for now!  Going to post that tutorial next!

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby Quilts ‘R’ Us!

  1. sandcastle1015 says:

    I love the colors and the patterns!!!!!

  2. Kristina says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished product. The pattern is very cool and I like the colors, especially the diamondy purple.

Leave a Reply

