Adjusting to My Speed

Well, this has been an interesting week!

So, pushing through all that yuckiness in the beginning of the week helped immensely – this commission piece I’m working on has 900 pieces to be sewn together, and I somehow foolishly thought that I could do all of that in five days – two of which were spent working at diminished capacity.  Ah, well.  I’ve pieced 96 of 100 blocks (that’s about 864 pieces of 900) and I’m taking a break to give my back and shoulders a much needed rest (not to mention my right wrist, which is weirdly sore from having to hand-turn my machine a few times).  In a little while, I’ll get back to work and finish those last four blocks, maybe prep everything for sewing the rows together, and then take a long, hot shower (see?  quilting is sexy!).

The good news about my incredibly slow progress is that I have a pretty good sense now of how long it will take me to make a full-sized quilt (and makes me think that, for now at least, I should stick to baby quilts).  I’d say a two-week turnaround for something as complex as a 100 block paper-pieced quilt isn’t bad, especially when I do all of the quilting myself (rather than ship it out to a longarm service and have someone do that for me).  Though I’m starting to think that price I quoted was super low-balling it.

Here are a few photos of the fabric after it was all cut out:

That is 900 pieces of fabric, kiddies.  100 3″ square squares, and 800 triangles.  The pile looks significantly smaller at this point.  Hooray!

The week has also been peppered with visits to potential new living spaces.  Chad and I have seen five or six apartments at this point and have an application in on one of them.  I’m really eager to find a place and sign the lease; he’s far more methodical about it (which is a good thing, I can be really impulsive) and we’re still looking.  It’s weird to have to drop everything I’m doing on the machine to walk all the way to the north end of Jersey City, but there it is – it must be done!  Especially if we actually want to have somewhere to go come August.  ^.^;  I hope that it gets settled soon, though.  Would be nice.

A couple of quick announcements!  The first is that the photo-a-day project is back on hiatus.  I love taking pictures (and I take tons every day of the work I’m doing), but uploading them all onto Flickr and tagging them and la la la just takes up too much time.  I’m thinking I’ll upload once a month or something, but for now, it’s on a little mini-holiday whilst I focus on all of this sewing.

The second announcement is that I’ll be hosting tutorials on the blog!  There’s even a tab!  Though there’s nothing there at the moment.  I’m working on my first one right now, and I hope to have it ready and up by the end of next week (we’ll see, depending on how long it takes me to finish the current project).  I’ve spent an awful lot of time with this one block for the last few days and I can confidently say I could do it in my sleep… so now I’m trying to think of ways to help you do it, if you’re so inclined!

The third is not really an announcement so much as it is a potential announcement: I think that, once I’m finished with this big project, I may go on internet hiatus for a while.  I’m really proud of how consistently I’ve posted here, but I need to build up an inventory now that the Kickstarter folks all have their rewards from the project, and taking time away from sewing to post may prove to be an unnecessary distraction.  Not to mention I’m still trying to decide what sort of content to include here, now that the initial part of the adventure is, well, over.  But we shall see…!

And finally, this week’s Tip of the Week!

Use quality supplies.  I know that sounds sort of self-explanatory, but sometimes we buy things because they’re less expensive, or because we don’t know how well (or not) they work, or because our moms work at a craft store… ^.^;  May I suggest springing that extra couple of dollars to get things that won’t crap out on you half-way through a project, like this:

These are the rulers I’ve been using as straight edges when I cut out fabric.  And they’ve cracked, warped, and worst of all, they don’t stand up to my rotary blades, and I’ve cut into them so badly that they no longer have straight edges.  And while that may sound like a minor problem… when you’re cutting out 900 pieces, it really helps to have everything work smoothly!

Seriously.  I know quilting rulers are pricey, but, they are also made to work with extra-super sharp rotary cutters.  Spring for the $15 ruler.  For real, it will make your sewing life that much easier.

I have some thoughts on projects for after the commission is done, but I’ll save those for Monday.  I usually take Saturday and Sunday “off” from sewing, but I may just plow through the weekend so I can start working on some other stuff early next week.

Until later, Stitchers!

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies, Personal Musings, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

