I Try To Love Everyone…

But if my organs were people, I’d probably want to kill them.  >_<;

Yes, Stitchers, it would appear that I am once again under the sway of some minor food poisoning.  What the hell, intestines?!  What.  The.  Hell?!

Ugh.  Well, despite feeling like crap, I managed to stand up in snippets long enough today to continue working, so that I could bring you pretty pictures of fabric and tell you all about what I’m doing with it (sort of).

First thing, though, is that I was 100% correct about my family affair Friday being completely and utterly insane; it sort of set a weird tone for the whole weekend that I’m not going to get into beyond saying that my family is ludicrous, large, and Italian.  Take from that what you will.

So, last week I worked on some commission pieces for my Mom that I (and she!) was quite pleased with.  I was really taken with the square-in-a-square block, just loved the way it looked and how easy it was to construct.  Naturally, the next step would be to start pumping out these little coaster/trivet/potholder things!  Except for the part where someone commissioned a full-sized quilt as a wedding gift for her friend.  Woo, commission!  Woo, square-in-a-square block!  Woo!

Since I’ve spent a lot of today going between the couch, my sewing table, and the ladies’ room, I’ve not got a lot of work to show.  Mostly I’ve just cut out the pieces (rough cut, since this is paper-pieced), and prepped my paper patterns by needle punching them.  Tomorrow I’ll hopefully feel significantly better, and be able to really start working on this quilt.

Here are some pictures of the fabric:

This last is the massive stack of squares I cut out today (which need to be cut into triangles later).  It’s not quite finished.  Have a few more strips to cut, but… I’m pretty confident I can finish this quilt (finished size should be 60″ by 60″) by Friday.  We shall see!

A few random points of randomness:

  • I saw X-Men: First Class Saturday.  It was positively lovely.  Well written, well acted, excellent soundtrack.  It totally made my day (which prior to that had been pretty shitty).
  • Took pictures with my sister of all of the clothing items from the short-lived Which Stitchery clothing line.  Very happy with how those came out, and I will post a few of them on Flickr later this week.
  • I did not make it to the post office today, given my current tummy issues.  Again, hopefully tomorrow this will change and I’ll be able to mail out the rest of the WS stuff to Katie and Molly.
  • The boy and I have started looking into apartments.  (What?  Vanessa, didn’t you just move?!)  The lease is up at the end of next month and we’ve got our eyes on a couple of really nice basement places (because we both desperately want a garden).  Taking a look at the first one tonight, presuming I can walk all the way up there…

I think that’s all for now.  I’m pretty tired and still have to go do that whole apartment thing, which if you’ve not experienced, it is quite exhausting (but also really fun).  I’ll be back Friday with a Tip of the Week, and hopefully a finished quilt to show off.  ^_^

Until then, hope that everyone is staying healthy!

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Personal Musings, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

