Next Steps

Alright, Stitchers.  I’m posting a day early because I anticipate tomorrow being mostly full of travel and insanity (my cousin is turning 16, and my family is Big and Italian and always has these huge blowout Sweet 16s that are Huge and Crazy).  A few things have been going on this week, and they are:

  • I’ve finished a commission piece for my Mom, which I’ll take you through step-by-step (sort of) in a minute.
  • I’ve worked on a top-secret thing for my Dad, and (sort of) finished it – need to check a few of my measurements first before I call it done.
  • I’ve arranged to mail the quilts out tomorrow, after I take them to the park to take pictures of them today.
  • I’ll be taking pictures of clothing-related things with my sister on Saturday, so those who are actually getting non-quilt items will have their things mailed on Monday instead.

Phew!  That probably doesn’t sound like much, but for someone who has such a hard time getting going in the mornings, this is a big deal (you’ll notice that on Monday I gave myself a to-do list for the week, and have accomplished it.  Hooray!).  ^.^;

So, onto the photo goodies!

My Mom works at the Our Montessori School in Yorktown, NY, and has a team of some pretty awesome people working with her to educate the youth of Westchester.  She asked me to make some mugs for them (they’re all religious coffee drinkers) as well as potholder things for them to… put the mugs on when they’re hot, I guess?  Eh.  Point is, I made them, and they’re up for sale on Etsy (for her!) here (in case anyone wants to see what my Etsy store might look like once I’ve wracked up a decent inventory).

So, the process!  First, as always, the fabric:

Here is the pattern I used for these little guys:

Now, compared to the Sunburst quilt that I did last week, this paper-piecing pattern was laughably easy.  I guess that’s the benefit of starting at the end and working backwards, however obnoxious it is to reverse-engineer something as you go…!

Attaching the fabric, piece by piece:

Here they are looking semi-done:

(these last ones are my favorite things ever.  so.  pretty!)

So, I removed the paper backing after this stage, and started cutting out the binding.  There are a couple of ways to bind a quilt (or quilted object), ranging from using the backing (which I think has the potential to look positively awful) to using bias tape to using quilter’s binding, which is like wide bias tape.  I actually make my own binding.  It involves a lot of strip-cutting and piecing the strips together, and a lot of pressing with the iron, but in the end I think it’s the best way to coordinate colors and make sure that the binding matches (if you cut your binding from a fabric that you used in the quilt top, it’s gonna look nice).

Binding, after it’s been cut, sewn together, and pressed:

 

Pinned and ready to go!

For these guys I used polyester batting.  I really hate the polyester, but it works for these because it’s so poofy.  I think the cotton would have been easier to work with, but ultimately wouldn’t have given them the comfy cozy feel of something with which you want to pick up burning things.

This is me being ridiculous, and taking pictures of a pile of string and excess fabric, because I’m a dork, and thought it was pretty:

(squee!)

And now, and orgy of photos of the finished products:

I hand painted the Which Stitchery logo on the back of each of these because my current label (which is a stencil) is way too big.  So we have 6 finished potholder/trivets, at $10 a pop.  They don’t take tons of time to make (and will likely take less time as I make more of them), and will definitely be a “regular” item in the Etsy store (also, I won’t limit potholders to this block… want to try the kaleidoscope next!).  AND, I tried out machine-sewing the binding on for these guys, and it doesn’t look terrible.  Practice!  It will save me tons of thread (I’m sure, as I’m a notorious waster of thread when I hand-sew) and tons of time.  Hooray!

That’s all for now, kittens.  Expect your goodies to arrive in the mail sometime next week, and I will post again on Monday!

Hugs, and enjoy the beautiful weekend!

(P.S. – I am thinking about ways to make this blogging experience more interactive and amenable to the online crafting community, which is, putting it lightly – largeDo you have any suggestions for things you’d like to see on the blog?  Comment on this post please!)

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Next Steps

  1. susan says:

    Oh, Nessie, they are awesome!!!!!!! I am sooooo happy and pleased. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

  2. those are really lovely! I think they will sell very well on etsy. no ideas at the moment for le blog, but I will think on it (at the moment I am try to come up with ideas for a fancy pants petits four prestige! it’s not due until tuesday, though. whew!)

    but those are some damn fine potholders, yo.

  3. Pingback: I Try To Love Everyone… | Which Stitchery

  4. Kristina says:

    I loooove the green and the orange potholders. Very pretty.

Leave a Reply

