Self Education

Hello Stitchers!

So, this week I’ve been working hard to bring my backers some very pretty things.  I’ve got three quilts 90% finished (you saw one in Monday’s post) and now am just putting the finishing touches on what’s available.  I should be putting things in the mail sometime in the middle of next week.  Hooray!  ^_^

Let’s take a look at quilt #2!  Heavily paper pieced; I’ve never paper pieced anything before this quilt, and naturally my inclination was to go headlong into the most complex pattern in the book I picked up (weeks ago) to teach myself how to do it.  ^.^;  Let’s just say I’m a super fast learner…

So, step one is needle-punching through the pattern on several layers of paper (one piece of paper for each block).  This is done without thread and helps make tearing the paper out later much easier.

Here are the colors of the quilt, and the pieces once they’ve been cut out (roughly; they don’t have to exactly match the pattern):

I’ve been laying colors out like this to plan, but I’m working on getting a planning board started so that I can plan before I cut things out.  ^.^;

The next step is to sew the fabric to the “wrong side” of the paper pattern.  This process is incredibly tedious and involves a lot of pressing seams open.  Figuring it out on something as complex as a curved, spiky block was a pain in the ass, but the results are very nice:

The one thing that really bugs me, though, is that paper piecing creates a tremendous amount of waste.  It allows for some really beautiful things that you wouldn’t be able to do without the paper to hold the pattern together, but still, I hate wasting material, and this is only a fraction of the amount that was thrown away in the end:

A finished part of the block:

The back of a finished curve

Sewing curves, by the way, is rough.  Here’s some pinning and craziness going on:

Eventually you pull all the paper off, like this.  Again, it was so much easier to pull the paper away because I’d needle-punched it first.

And this is a finished block:

Here’s a shot of the quilt top before it’s fully assembled:

And here it is once it’s been assembled:

For the first time?  Yes.  Yes, I am this awesome.  ^_^;  Next up was pinning through all three layers to get it ready for quilting.  I discovered the straight-up safety pins are not a good thing to pin with unless you remove them as you go (and before you stitch over them).  I’m assuming that quilter’s safety pins have removable heads…

And here is the top once it’s been quilted:

It’s curvy!  And an interesting experiment in driving free-handed curves.  I would have loved to make them a little tighter; hopefully next time around they will be.  However, I’m very happy with how this came out, especially considering I’m still sort of just quilting willy-nilly without drawing a pattern on top first.

Here’s the back:

And the hanging sleeve:

And introducing the “official” Which Stitchery tag!

All told, another successful project.  ^_^  I’ve been sewing for like, 8 hours a day every day… this is a crazy amount of work for me (in a good way) and I’m so proud of myself for following through with it.  I’m hoping that everyone is enjoying the ride so far!

And, just a quick peak at the quilt I’m finishing up today (because it wasn’t enough to teach myself to paper piece… I had to go and make a pattern from scratch that I would later paper piece):

Doin’ my work pool-side.  Yeaaaaaaah.

For all those unrepentant nerds like me out there, yes, this quilt will be what you think it is.  For all those who are woefully outside the Realm of Nerdom, this is the Triforce from Legend of Zelda:

One of my backers specifically requested something like this, and it was a fun challenge.  I’ll be posting more about that next week, since we’re going camping this weekend, and we’re leaving in an hour, and I still haven’t packed yet.  Sooo… I need to get on that.

And… I leave you with the inevitable coffee stain, because I’ve recently become re-addicted to caffeine.  ^.^;  Ah, well.  One day I’ll kick the crap out of that habit.Until next week, Stitchers!  As always, comments are appreciated!  In fact, I’ll leave you with a question:

What would you be willing to pay for a hanging quilt like the one featured in this post (again, trying to determine price points…)?

Thanks!  ^_^  Have a safe and happy Memorial Day weekend everyone!

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Self Education

  1. visola says:

    Just lovely!

    So glad to see that you’re getting to work on all the sewing projects as they call.

    • Glad you like! And yes… that just seems to be a better way for me to be productive. ^_^ I’d much rather do what the fabric tells me than sit and fight with it when it doesn’t like what I want to do! ^.^;

  2. Katie says:

    Woah. Your quilts are looking awesome! Damn, girl.

    Re pricing: I have no idea what similar things go for, so if I were trying to price it I’d make a time and materials cost estimate, and then adjust that according to what similar items have sold for on etsy.

    • Thanks darling! I’m glad you like! ^_^

      That seems like a perfectly reasonable way to go about pricing my quilts. I think right now time can’t be a factor, though, because it takes about 16 hours to make one small quilt, and if I were charging by the hour they’d be priced astronomically. ^.^; However, I definitely will start looking at stuff on Etsy to give me a better sense of what similar items go for.

  3. susan says:

    Oh my God!!!!! I love, love, love it!!!!!!!

  4. gina says:

    oh my goodness your quilts are lovely!!! I’d love to own one, but have no idea what price fancy quilts go for. I think anywhere from $75-$300? Personally I probably would not pay more than $100 for a quilt, but I am not a quilt aficionado or anything. maybe that is mildly helpful? lolz.

    (and ps, kudos for keeping up with the blog. I have to start posting i mine again!)

    • Thanks so much for the input! I’m glad you like what you see; you shallown one of these quilts, darling! And that sounds like a perfect price range; taking from this and what Katie said, I will be looking around on Etsy to get a sense of how others are pricing their work.

      And thank you! I’m trying really hard to post twice a week. Please do post more when you can! I love your recipes! Still trying to get Chad to make those key lime tartlets! ^_~

  5. Abbi says:

    Beautiful job Nessa. Some day I will commission one from you. However, I did recently receive a pottery gift in the mail from you. Thank you my dear. It’s sitting in an honored place on my desk, and brightening up my whole life.

    Blessed be.

    -A

    • Thanks, Abbi. I’ll be happy to make you anything you like my love – and I’m so glad that the pottery arrived! I hope it keeps giving you bright and shiny thoughts. ^_^ Miss you tons, and will try to arrange a visit as soon as I can.

      Smooches!

  6. Pingback: Geekery | Which Stitchery

Leave a Reply

