The Snafu That is My Fickleness…

A very quick update, Stitchers, before I get back to work, since yesterday was spent doing a whole lot of nothing.  I have for you:

The tunic!

First off, please forgive the poor lighting.  It’s crap weather out today, and I couldn’t find a good spot to hang the darned thing that took advantage of the good lighting there is to be had.  So, the colors are not as vibrant as I’d like in this photo.  Second, let me tell you that I am much happier with this thing now that it’s finished than I was with it before it was hemmed.  Something about it really just bugged me, but now, I quite like it.  ^_^

A similar process went on making this; I cut out all I would need of the fabric and then did a little hack-and-slash to add in the patchwork, which on this piece is pretty minimal.  Here’s a close-up:

I stitched over the whole bit to (a) hold the inside seams together and (b) give it more of a quilted feel.  I’m really pleased with how this part looks.

Aside from cool patches, this tunic also boasts the tiniest hemlines ever; they are possibly the smallest, tightest hems I’ve ever sewn:

(oh, self-timer, you are my favorite new toy!)

As usual, I ironed everything first before cutting out, and I also took a lot of close up pictures of the fabric, because this fabric is particularly spectacular and looks a lot like hand painted silk.  Here are some of the pictures I took, just because they were pretty:

(those last three are actually a forest green, which didn’t turn out in the photos for some crazy reason.)

Here’s one last shot of the tunic hanging out on a hanger whilst I try to find better lighting:

I really enjoy the way this drapes.  I would have taken a picture of myself wearing it if it fit me better; turns out it’s not made for one with my boobies, so for now just sitting on the hanger will have to do.  Eventually, there will be photos of my sister wearing this and it will look much more spectacular.

Thoughts on this design so far:

  • I like it, but I feel like it needs some kind of tweak.
  • It takes up way too much fabric; any way to make it look more patchy?

I think that’s it for now in terms of this piece.  I think I’ll work on the bolero next, but there’s a small hitch in all of this: I suddenly have a hankering to make a million quilts.

I am nothing if not a creature of whimsy.  And I mean that in pretty much every way a person could mean whimsy, but I especially mean it in the sense that I am a subject to my whims.  And, as much as the Etsy project started out feeling like it had to be about patchwork clothes, I think I’ve moved past the point in my life where making clothes is interesting to me.  I keep looking at all of this beautiful fabric I’ve bought and wondering if it would be better used as legitimate quilting fabric, turned into many little baby quilts, or table runners, or wall hangings, or anything other than a shirt, especially when I’m not 100% thrilled with the design.

To be fair, when I started the Kickstarter project, I thought it would be brilliant to make clothes out of quilt tops, but didn’t really stop to think that it had been a good while since I’d actually sat down to sew anything wearable (over a year).  Now that I’m back to hemming and and worrying about drape, I wonder if all along I wanted the Etsy store to be all about quilting.

This is not to say that I won’t finish the Kickstarter project, or finish the products I promised to my amazing, amazing backers.  I just think the scope of what I have in mind now is very different from what it was in March, and in keeping with my newfound desire to follow my gut where it leads, I’ve got to go with this.  Does this make me dishonest, or just flaky?  I’m hoping for the latter.

Thoughts, suggestions?  Comment, please!

For now, back to the sewing table.

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Snafu That is My Fickleness…

  1. megan says:

    Okay- I’ve made it to the last post. Here’s my two cents as a backer, do what you love. Bottom line. I know I (and probably a lot of your backers) gave you the money to help fund what you WANT to do. Your art is beautiful. If you don’t want to make garments, don’t! I know I requested a Bolero, but if you want to do a small wall art quit or table runner or something do it! This project is about fun and beauty and patchwork and having the opportunity to share that creativity with everyone!

    Other two cents on the tunic- it is quite lovely. If you want to take out some of the fabric, lose it in the bottom section. You can still keep the drape of it, but you can take a good 3 inches out there with out loosing much.

    So there is my four cents for the day! Don’t get overwhelmed, it’s still too early in the process. Keep up the beautiful work.

    • Thanks so much for your encouragement, Megan! I am definitely feeling like quilting is the way to go with this project, and as I said, how I’m feeling often dictates what I do (one day, I’ll work on letting my emotions dictate my life!). Still working on some of the patterns; I don’t want to abandon them completely, so there may be clothes to ship out after all… but moving forward will definitely involve some paper piecing, and batting, and my brand-spankin’ new walking foot!

      And yes – the bottom of the tunic can definitely come up! That’s an excellent suggestion… will save on a lot of materials AND probably make it look a little less like a sack. ^.^;; Next incarnation will definitely look different!

  2. johnwiswell says:

    Naturally, I dig something that looks even vaguely tyedye or like a Hawaiian shirt.

    • I’m glad you like it. ^_^ It does look Hawaiian-esque, doesn’t it? And it’s definitely tie-dye. Perhaps I will experiment with tie-dying later in the year; I have a book on natural dying techniques, and access to an employee discount at a crafts store… mwa hahaha!

Leave a Reply

