A Few Changes

Sorry to say that today there will be no photos, darlings!  Yesterday was spent in a tizzy of pattern making (I have a pattern for a shrug, the bolero design sans collar – decided I hated it – and a pair of punk sleeves) and procurement of necessaries like a folding table so I have a larger (and higher!) surface to work on, and I didn’t have time to take pictures… not to mention they would have pretty much been of the same thing in the last post – lots of white fabric!

So important!  I’m starting to realize why so many crafters say that it’s of dire importance to separate your living space from your workspace.  Right now I’m in the living room, crammed in with all of my sewing things, in front of the coffee table and the immense thing that is our TV.  Said TV has lots of movies and shows on it, savvy?  It’s very distracting.  I usually work with something on in the background – music, a movie I’ve seen a million times – but there is a lot of new material on there (all of the Star Trek series, for example, which I’ve been trying to work my way through), and new material tends to capture my attention a little too much.

However, since yesterday was so wildly productive, today is going to be so as well.  For starters, I have taken down all pottery-related things on here.  It just made more sense to house the pottery stuff in its own little world, and so, Sacred Spiral Pottery was born!  Anything pottery related will happen over there from now on, including information on sales and commissions.  Woo!  (naturally, there is also an Etsy shop under the same name)

Keep an eye out this week for a finished piece or two – I hope to have something to show you all by Friday that isn’t just me sitting around putzing with my serger (which, by the way, is an evil little contraption – does anyone have a Singer Mini-Serger, and if so, is it evil to you, too?!).  I also have another design to show you, which should be up Friday as well.

Speaking of designs, I’ve decided that what I’ve made, pattern-wise, will be it for now.  I think my focus needs to be on the method of piecing each item and producing the items rather than thinking of all the cool patterns I could come up with.  I need to start small, else this project completely overwhelms me before I even get it off the ground.  Unless someone has a suggestion for how to combat this feeling, as of right now I’ve got 6 patterns: the yoga bag, the hat, the tunic, the shrug, the bolero, and the punk sleeves.

At some point, I’ll also get back to my kitchen goodies.  Must post them on Etsy.

Where’s my to-do list?!

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

