Beautiful Fabric and Other News

As tentatively promised, here are pictures of the absolutely gorgeous fabric I bought last Sunday before my bought with the stomach flu, or whatever the hell it was that I had (as a side note, I seem to have mended just in time for Mexico; each day I’ve felt a teensy bit better which means I should wake up Saturday morning feeling fresh as a freaking daisy – right in time to spend the whole day on a plane, which I hate.  Woo-hoo!).  I spent about two hours at The City Quilter in Chelsea (it turned out to be more cost-effective) torturing the poor girls who work there with piles and piles of bolts of fabric to cut.

Let’s get right to it, shall we?  ^_^

So there are two bags full of fabric, which are pictured above.  I think when I first went shopping I was like zomfg 200+ yards of fabric lolz, but obviously my stomach was affecting my math, because there is definitely not even over 100 yards of fabric in these bags.  However, it is a lot of fabric, and I tried to get as many colors (except for white) as possible.  The big pile of white fabric in the corner of the second picture is about 10 yards of muslin for pattern drafting.  Hooray!  Here are some fun close up shots (love me my macro!) of some of the different fabrics:

These are all pre-wash (I will wash each color, probably individually by hand, before cutting and sewing) colors and I’m a little sad because while my lighting in this new apartment is decent I feel like I’m not really capturing the beautiful nuances of these fabrics.  As you may have noticed, they are all batiks.  ^.^;  I couldn’t help myself!  Hand-dyed and everything, I wish I’d written down the name of the company that produces them.  Here are some more!

So many beautiful colors!  And patterns!  What I really wanted to do for a photo shoot was to just throw all the fabric on the floor and roll around in it.  ^.^;  Naturally this really would have been an invitation for my cat to do the same, and unfortunately I’m trying to keep things as hypo-allergenic as I possibly can.  Anyway, I absolutely cannot wait to finally get to start cutting things out and making them with all these lovely batiks!  It’s going to be awesome!  And I hope that while I’m away I’ll find some major inspiration in the wilds of Playa del Carmen!

Speaking of which – the blog will be on break starting tomorrow night at 10 (I’ll be around to check comments and such until about that time).  I believe I’ll have internet access in Mexico, but I’m going to do my best to unplug while I’m gone.  That means no checking email, blog posts, comments, or web comics while I’m away.  Or spending sixteen bajillion hours on Etsy looking at stuff other people have made.  As much as possible, this is going to be a real vacation, especially since it’s really the last one I can afford to take for a long while.

I’ll be returning on the 30th, and May 1st is a very special day for me and some friends, who are getting together for a barbecue (that is, provided I’m not too jet lagged/sun burnt/exhausted from doing – the thing about going on vacation with my boyfriend is that typically we don’t lounge on a beach for six days.  Adventure!).  Theoretically I will have a lot of pictures to go through, but I hope to be back to blogging regularly starting on Monday the 2nd (and of course, sewing, sewing, sewing!).

Speaking of pictures!  The photo-a-day project is also on a small hiatus; I’ve got pictures to upload for up to April 16th, but then I got sick, so there’s a gap.  Depending on whether or not I have time before I leave, I will try to get that all up to date on the Flickr page so that when I return I can just have a smooth transition.

Pottery updates will probably have to wait; I’ve been seriously neglecting the studio and all of the things in it that belong to me.  *sigh*

And, just as a teaser, here’s a tidbit of some of the home-goodies I’m working on.  My list of to-do things from last week got seriously derailed, but I did manage to make four potholders/quilted coasters/trivets on Friday:

Here they are with the backing showing:

And featuring some pretty pottery!

And that’s all for now, folks!  Again, I’ll be around until about 10pm tomorrow night, and then I’m cutting myself off from the internet!  Be safe, have a beautiful week, and I will see you all (in that beautiful, figurative sense) when I get back!

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beautiful Fabric and Other News

  1. sandcastle1015 says:

    The fabric looks wonderful!! Such an array of colors. I especially like the tie dye 🙂

Leave a Reply

