Getting Settled…

It’s now been a bit over a week that I’ve been getting settled in the new place – which is temporary in the sense that the lease is up in August and we will probably be moving again into an apartment that is big enough to accommodate two people and a cat.  The move went as smoothly as my moves tend to go lately, which mostly means that they actually had the truck they said they’d have for me at the U-Haul place, and we didn’t hit any major traffic due to certain parades tramping through Manhattan.  The majority of my things are stowed safely in my grandparents’ basement, and I have managed to condense all of my sewing supplies, mostly, into these little adorable containers:

What’s hilarious (and I think what the boy doesn’t realize yet) is that this only contains what fabric and supplies I already have.  This does not include the massive tonnage of fabric I will be buying with the Kickstarter funds this week (eeee!).  At the moment I’m waiting for the funds to transfer, and I’m calling around to a couple of fabric stores that I know to see about their price scales and perhaps what can be done about buying in bulk.  If anyone knows where I can get cheap fabric in or around the city, please let me know!  I prefer to buy in person; I’m a tactile girl and much prefer to touch and smell things before I buy them.

I took a small break last week, too, and went to visit my good friend John (who writes some really amazing stuff, found here).  We played The Maw and Mass Effect 2, watched Kiki’s Delivery Service (now my favorite of all of Miyazaki’s work) and Toy Story 3, talked about my (still vitriolic) feelings about education, and made some smokin’ burgers:

In all, a good time was had.  It was a much-needed break from the immediate stresses of my life, and I’m glad I went.  It made organizing and unpacking much easier when I returned, though I’ve had a hard time making a routine for myself, especially since I don’t have anyone to answer to right now but myself.

Getting back into the swing of things is always difficult for me after a major change, and it feels like a lot of my life lately has been one major change after another.  I always find establishing a routine is extremely difficult; forming new habits always seems to be way harder than breaking bad ones (which I hear is pretty hard).  What I would love for my day to look like is this:

8:00am – 8:30am – get up and do that whole morning thing (including breakfast)
8:30am – 9:30am – yoga (YOGA YOGA YOGA)
9:30am – 12:00pm – sew/Which Stitchery-related things
12:00pm – 12:30pm – healthy lunch
1:00pm – 5:00pm – pottery (except Thursdays, where this will go to an ungodly late hour)
5:30pm – 6:30pm – exercise upstairs in the gym (yes, I have one of those now, exciting!)
6:30pm – ?? – dinner and other random things (and also, updating my web presence)

So far, what is actually looks like is pretty much a train wreck.  I wanted to get up this morning, I really did.  But I sort of rolled back over and slept until 10, so yet again, most of this morning-productivity business will have to wait until tomorrow!  If anyone has any tips for helping to establish this (what I think is extremely simple!) routine, please comment, comment, comment!

But, regardless of whether or not this routine is established this week, I do have a few goals for myself in terms of getting the major projects started.  Hopefully funds will transfer quickly and I’ll be able to (a) buy fabric this week (but barring that, I will have made a decision about where I am going to buy fabric from – as well as a walking foot and a zipper foot for my machine).  I plan to (b) have sketches of a few of the pieces I plan to make up here soon, and I’ll also be (c) updating the Adventures in Mud-Slinging section with a few items that are finished and are for sale.  I will (d) finish the pink confections that I was working on in this post, and if things go super smooth, I will start (e) sewing way ahead of the schedule I’d originally set for myself (though this will probably wait until next week).

The Flickr page is back up and running for now, too.  I’ve been watching a lot of Star Trek: Enterprise (hey!  a girl has to get her nerd on somehow!) and taking some interesting design cues from the entirety of T’Pol’s wardrobe, which is fabulous.  And now I must go and appease my cat for a short while, who is having extreme difficulty adjusting to the collar I bought him.

And make lunch.  And, you know, go to the studio for a few hours and throw.

But yes, if anyone has any idea how to make this routine stick, please let me know!!

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies, Personal Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

