A Brief Pause…

So, after talking things through with my landlord last week, I will be leaving this glorious apartment of mine next Friday (or maybe Saturday, if I’m lucky).

All things considered, a two-week window to move out isn’t so bad, especially since in New Jersey you’re supposed to give 40 days notice if you plan to break a lease.  My landlord has been very accepting and cool about my situation (though I don’t think he’s clear on the part where I deliberately left my hellacious teaching job with nothing else lined up), so I’m not pissed (like my mom was) that I only have until the first (or second!) to be out.  I’ve been looking on and off for work since the end of December with no luck; every interview I’ve lined up has felt really good, and then I don’t hear back.  Which is just as well, because if I had a job I probably would never have thought to go all gung-ho with the crafting.

I feel like most people, when they decide they’ll be professional self-employed crafters, spend a few years saving up a cushion and working a regular day job before taking the plunge and starting their business “for realsies.”  I suppose even in this I can’t do things the normal way; I’ve put off doing things that I truly enjoy for so long (and to establish a sense of security, ha!) that now it just seems ridiculous to me to put these things off any longer by working and crafting.

One thing I will say for my friends is that they are exceptional people who always manage to show their love and support for me whenever I’m going through some kind of crisis (however small or large it may be).  So many of my friends (and family) have gotten behind this crafting thing; I’ve had offers to stay with people all over the place while I get myself back on my feet and I’ve had a tremendous response to the Kickstarter project (almost all the donations are from friends and family).  In this, regardless of the mistakes and decisions I’ve made, I am truly blessed.

This being said, I will living with my best friend for the time being.  He has graciously opened his home to me for the second time, and this weekend will hopefully see the beginning of moving all of my crafting supplies and maybe some of my books over to his apartment.  I’ll be honest and say that I’m not 100% in love with the idea of putting most of my things in storage (again), but I have to make compromises somewhere and I guess that’s not such a huge compromise when one takes into account how awesome and patient and loving everyone has been while I trip my way through yet another career crisis.

Needless to say, the next week is going to be pretty hectic for me: aside from packing up my life into boxes, trying to sell my couch, and finding a storage place that doesn’t feel super sketchy, I also have to work at the studio and will have to at least spend some time there keeping all of my clay moving through the process, since I’m starting to run out of space on my shelf.  This won’t leave a lot of time for sewing or spinning, so, alas, the project I was working on will have to wait until things settle down again.  When I don’t have to worry about packing, storing, and whether or not I’ll have a roof over my head or regular meals, I can spend all of my focus on sewing (though, I will do my best to keep up with the photo-a-day project, which is now being hosted on Facebook until April 1st).

And now, a fond farewell in photos to my beautiful #212:

If you can’t tell from the pictures, I am a huge book and bell junkie (as well as a fabric junkie!), and it’s going to be really difficult putting all of my books back into boxes where they will sit, unloved and unread, for who knows how long.  Hopefully I’ll be able to take at least some of them with me to the boy’s.

I will especially miss the beautiful little china cabinet built into the kitchen wall and the bookshelves built into the divider between the living room and the bedroom.  I will miss the exposed brick and the painted walls and the claw foot tub and the sky lights and how bright and sunny and charming this place is.  I will miss hooks in the ceiling for my bells and my wind-chimes; I will miss feeling like this place belongs to me and that, however briefly, it was mine.

I have to assume now that my next dwelling – wherever it may be – will be a thousand times more amazing.  It will make me feel a little better about leaving this place behind.

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Personal Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

