Mini-Project for Japan

Hello Stitchers!

So, after contacting Kickstarter (and re-reading the rules), it turns out that money from funded projects cannot go towards charitable causes (alas!).  Since I do have friends in Japan and I am concerned for their well being, and because I want to send money to this country that so inspired me in college while it is in dire straits, I am planning to make some small items for the Etsy shop, the proceeds of which will go towards a charity for Japan.  If anyone knows of a reputable charity to donate to, please let me know (comment, or email me!).  I’m in the midst of doing some research myself.  Of course, all updates on this mini-project for Japan can be found on here on the blog, and hopefully by the end of this week I will have not only pictures but solid products up for sale.

I’m going to get to work on this and will keep folks posted.

In the meanwhile, another HUGE thank you to those who are helping out with the Kickstarter project!  Beyond the fact that I have wonderful friends willing to help out by both donating their hard-earned cash AND spreading the word via Facebook and email, I have total strangers donating AND some folks have have even upped their donations, which is super awesome (and they win the Sparkly Awesome Award of Awesomeness!).  16 days left, and I’m hoping that these last two weeks see another 40% funding (which would bring me up to 100%, for those of us who are a little math retarded.  Like me.  ^.^)!  As always, please spread the word if you can… I’m really excited to get moving on this project and I want to sew up a storm!  Which is difficult to do when all you have to work with is scrap fabric.

Ah, well.  If it falls through, perhaps I’ll just make a gigantic quilt.

Until later, love and light!

P.S. – Oh, I almost forgot!  Today I am going to learn how to spin yarn on a drop spindle, courtesy of my most excellent pottery teacher, Danica Holoviak.  Definitely pictures and posts to follow!

Love and light, kiddies!

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies, Personal Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

