Working on the Blog…

So many ideas are flying through my mind lately, it’s been difficult to keep up or keep track!

I had a conversation the other night that involved a lot of talk about why I wasn’t pursuing photography.  I’m sad that I didn’t spend time while I was at Bennington taking classes and honing those skills I’d developed in my high school photography classes; I’ve always felt like I have a pretty decent eye when it comes to photos and I was really into it – I even thought (ever so briefly) of becoming a photographer for National Geographic one day.  Needless to say, other things took precedence for a wild variety of reasons (that’s right, wild), and I’ve only taken pictures for recreation up until now.

Now, there’s this focus on making sure your pictures look great when you’re trying to sell anything online.  Of course!  The internet is such a visual media and shopping is such a visual/tactile experience that naturally you want your pictures to look fabulous if you’re even entertaining the vague hope of selling something.  So, of course I’m taking tons of pictures of my pottery (which I will be selling on Etsy; for now it will be via email contact and custom listings only), and will be taking tons of pictures of my sewing projects, and since I’m sort of tied up with both of these things right now, why not make the whole experience about photography, too?  This way – genius – if I get bored or tired of one or the other, I can focus and pay attention to one of the other two and therefor keep my creative juices flowing…

See, I have what I like to call Professional ADD.  It’s just like regular ADD, except that I have made a profession out of it.  I change my mind about things constantly; I’ve always had the attention span of a squirrel.  I don’t stay interested in things long enough to stick them out; I think that this seamstress-potter-photographer trifecta will ultimately be the answer to this problem because it offers me more wiggle room and places to bounce between when I’m feeling stuck, creatively or otherwise.  Who knows?  The point is, when this came up in conversation it felt like a lot of things just clicked, and I’ve been running with this idea for two days and actually producing things, so… this feels like the right path right now.

All that being said, please take a look (if you’ve not already) at the crazy work I’ve been doing online to make this all cohesive!

Adventures in Mud-Slinging
Photo-a-Day Project
Photo-a-Day Project on Flickr

As always, comments are more than welcome!  And if you haven’t yet, please check out my project on Kickstarter!

Break time for this Stitcher…

About Which Stitchery

For almost as long as I can remember, I have been in love with fabric and all of the amazing things you can do with it. I've made costumes, hats, and dabbled in corsetry. I made quilts and I knit and I crochet and I wonder what sort of crazy things I can do with pretty much every scrap of fabric I come across. Next up: learning how to batik! Welcome to this happy little blog, which will chronicle my projects as I work on various new ways to make the world around me a little more colorful!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handmade Clothing and Goodies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

